Hirsch Pavilion

The heart of the exhibition will be the Hirsch Pavilion and the Observatory Park.

Part of the Observatory, the Hirsch Pavilion, named after the first director of the institution, Adolphe Hirsch, is still almost in the state of construction in 1912. It has been classified as a historic monument for its architectural qualities and interior decoration due to the Art School of la Chaux-de-Fonds (Sapin style). This building is already in itself a small museum. From a scientific point of view, the dome is equipped with a triple Zeiss refractor from 1910, a unique piece in the world in this version. In the basement, there is a Quervain-Piccard seismograph that was inaugurated in 1928 and operated until 1971. There were also astronomical clocks under glass bells, which were the best timepieces known just before quartz. They are deposited at the MIH for conservation, but a relocation to the site is being considered.

Observatory in 1912 (L’Observatoire Cantonal neuchâtelois 1858-1912)
(L’Observatoire Cantonal neuchâtelois 1858-1912)

Memorial of the director Adolphe Hirsch (entrance of the building)

Room of Zeiss telescope

Room of the clocks

Room of the seismograph Quervain-Piccard